French Studies Program at UC Berkeley

People

Want to join the Friends of the French Studies Program?

Whether you’re a student interested in France, a faculty member with a French connection, or just want to stay up to date on all things French in the community, please contact us with your name and position to join. All are welcome!

Director

Mairi McLaughlin
mclaughlin@berkeley.edu

Assistant Director

Mila MacBain
mmacbain@berkeley.edu

Affiliated Faculty

David Bates, Professor of Rhetoric
dwbates@calmail.berkeley.edu 
Website

Karl Britto, Associate Professor of French and Comparative Literature
kbritto@berkeley.edu 
Website

Marion Fourcade, Associate Professor of Sociology
fourcade@berkeley.edu 
Website

Suzanne Guerlac, Professor of French
guerlac@berkeley.edu 
Website

Jocelyne Guilbault, Professor of Music, Ethnomusicology
jguilbau@socrates.berkeley.edu 
Website

Timothy Hampton, Professor of French
thampton@berkeley.edu 
Website

Carla Hesse, Dean of Social Sciences and Professor of History
chesse@berkeley.edu 
Website

David Hult, Professor of French
dhult@berkeley.edu 
Website

Richard Kern, Director of Berkeley Language Center, Professor of French
rkern@berkeley.edu 
Website

Geoffrey Koziol, Associate Professor of History
gkoz@berkeley.edu 
Website

Celeste Langan, Associate Professor of English
clangan@berkeley.edu 
Website

Jonah Levy, Associate Professor of Political Science
jlevy@berkeley.edu 
Website

Michael Lucey, Professor of French and Comparative Literature
mlucey@berkeley.edu 
Website

Susan Maslan, Associate Professor of French
samaslan@berkeley.edu 
Website

Laurent Mayali, Professor of Law and Director of the Robbins Collection in Religious and Civil Law 
lmayali@law.berkeley.edu 
Website

Nicholas Paige, Professor of French
npaige@berkeley.edu 
Website

Claude Potts, Librarian for Romance Languages
cpotts@library.berkeley.edu 
Website

Paul Rabinow, Professor of Anthropology
rabinow@berkeley.edu 
Website

Peter Sahlins, Professor of History and Director of ISF
sahlins@berkeley.edu 
Website

Debarati Sanyal, Associate Professor of French
sanyal@berkeley.edu 
Website

Anne Smock, Professor of French and Head Graduate Advisor
asmock@berkeley.edu 
Website

Francoise Sorgen-Goldschmidt, Professor Emerita of French
sorgengd@berkeley.edu 
Website

Other Affiliations

France-Berkeley Fund
The FBF provides seed money for innovative, bi-national research collaborations between the Bay Area (UC Berkeley and UC Davis) and France.

Institute of European Studies
207 Moses Hall, #2316
University of California
Berkeley, CA  94720-2316

ies@berkeley.edu

UC Berkeley logo

© Copyright UC Regents.
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement